suburban garden zone 4

Gardening for fun in the north

Hibernation’s Over

1 Comment

What started-out as a little shrub pruning, became total spring garden clean-out yesterday. I blame it entirely on the gorgeous, sunny, 60 degree weather.

Image

I discovered signs of life in my delphiniums, chrysanthemums, vinca vines, Canterbury bells, “blue spruce” sedum, chives, columbine, daffodils, and hyacinths. 

We dragged the rose trees out of the garage, watered them, and noticed small buds appearing. These guys need bigger pots or a spot in the ground this year…

Image

I also started the process of planting the last of my indoor seeds of the season. I nicked and soaked the bush-type and climbing sweet peas, morning glories, and cup and saucer vines. In addition to the flowering vines, I plan to direct sow scarlet emperor beans, purple pole beans, and snap peas. I found the idea of flowering vines so tempting when I was choosing seeds this winter that I choose many more than I have vertical space for. I’m going to just wing-it and start some of each, though. Can’t resist. 

 Image 

After a day of outdoor gardening, a curb lined with bags of leaves and twigs, having added the first bit of color to my cheeks and shoulders, and a never-ending “to do” list formed in my mind, I know my 2014 outdoor gardening season has officially begun. 

 

 

Author: AspenMN

Married SAHM of three. Love gardening, yoga, running, singing, community theatre, ballroom dance.

One thought on “Hibernation’s Over

Leave a comment